OUR STAFF

Executive Staff

Our Executive Staff provides overall leadership and strategic direction for the Greater Washington Community Foundation. 

Tonia Wellons
President and CEO

Rebecca Rothey, CFRE, CAP®, AEP®
Chief Philanthropy Officer

202-263-4766
rrothey@thecommunityfoundation.org

Melen Hagos
Advisor to the President

202-955-5890
mhagos@thecommunityfoundation.org

Niah Benjamin
Scheduler for CEO
nbenjamin@thecommunityfoundation.org


Community Investment

The Community Investment team focuses on The Community Foundation’s community leadership priorities, launching initiatives and carrying out responsive grantmaking to address the pressing needs of our community. Our Community Investment team, experts in grantmaking and local issues, are highly knowledgeable about these issues and the most effective nonprofit organizations in the Washington metropolitan area working to affect positive change.

Ronnie Galvin
Managing Director, Community Investment
rgalvin@thecommunityfoundation.org

Dawnn Leary
Senior Community Investment Officer
202-973-2519
dleary@thecommunityfoundation.org

Brittany Owens
Community Investment Associate
202-955-5890 x 205
bowens@thecommunityfoundation.org

Silvana Straw
Senior Community Investment Officer and Philanthropic Advisor

202-263-4775
sstraw@thecommunityfoundation.org

Jennifer Olney
Community Investment Officer, Partnership to End Homelessness
202-263-4774
jolney@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kimberly Rusnak
Project Director, Children’s Opportunity Fund
301-495-3036
krusnak@thecommunityfoundation.org

Joi Chester
Program Officer, Children’s Opportunity Fund

301-495-3036
jchester@thecommunityfoundation.org

Michelle Harman
Program Coordinator, Children’s Opportunity Fund
mharman@thecommunityfoundation.org


Development

The Development team leads the Greater Washington Community Foundation's outreach to professional advisors, private foundations, and business leaders in the region. They provide strategic guidance on contributing closely-held, complex, or illiquid assets and on charitable legacy planning.

Mary Robinson
Interim Managing Director, Development

mrobinson@thecommunityfoundation.org

Darcelle H. Wilson
Senior Director, Prince George’s County
dwilson@thecommunityfoundation.org

Desmirra Quinnonez
Donor Services Associate
301-918-8480 x 168
dquinnonez@thecommunityfoundation.org

Anna Hargrave
Executive Director, Montgomery County
301-495-3036 x 161
ahargrave@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kate Daniel
Donor Services Associate

301-495-3036 x 169
kdaniel@thecommunityfoundation.org

Emily Davis
Campaign Coordinator

202-973-2501
edavis@thecommunityfoundation.org


Finance and Accounting

The Finance and Accounting team uses strategy and experience to responsibly steward The Community Foundation’s assets. Our finance team also disperses funds and financial reports to donors, advisors, partners, and grantees. With more than 30 years of proven experience in sound financial stewardship, our expertise enables you to make the most of your investment. We manage all donor funds according to the highest standards of accountability. An annual audit is conducted and an additional independent committee of professionals reviews the results. At the end of each fiscal quarter, donors receive a financial report on the investment returns and grantmaking activity of their fund.

Juliana Mitrojorgji
Managing Director, Finance

202-303-2427
jmitrojorgji@thecommunityfoundation.org

Helen Conteh Davies
Controller
hcontehdavies@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kimberly Arriola
Accounting Manager
202-303-2437
karriola@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kathy Matthews
Director, Grants Management

202-263-4773
kmatthews@thecommunityfoundation.org

Erika Taylor
Grants Associate

202-973-2504
etaylor@thecommunityfoundation.org

Glenn Harris
Outsourced Chief Investment Officer
SEI


Marketing and Communications

Our Marketing and Communications team is responsible for the overall branding, outreach, and communications strategy for the organization.

Danielle Yates
Managing Director, Marketing & Communications

202-973-2513
dyates@thecommunityfoundation.org


Operations

The Community Foundation’s Operations team ensures the organization develops and implements the systems and processes necessary for effective impact.

Marcus Braxton
Managing Director, Operations
mbraxton@thecommunityfoundation.org

Jenn Walen
Database Manager
202-303-2430
jwalen@thecommunityfoundation.org

Gisela Shanfeld
Donor Services Officer

202-263-4779
gshanfeld@thecommunityfoundation.org

Ebony Clark
Director of Employee Engagement
202-263-4799
eclark@thecommunityfoundation.org

Matthew Dukes
Office Administrator
202-955-5890
mdukes@thecommunityfoundation.org

Al Angarita
IT Consultant
BNR Technologies